My thoughts on “The Help”

Let me start off by saying I went to the theaters twice to see this movie, add I tried to fit it into my schedule to see it for a third time before it left the theaters. I really enjoyed this movie, despite it traveling to a time before my birth, the movies brought back a lot of memories. You see I was raised in a household of great and great great grandparents with everything in the house dated back to the late 30’s maybe (causing my love for antiques). Their was few scenes in the movie where I imagined they traveled to New Orleans and retrieved furniture from house I grew up on Marlborough Gate, especially one of the kitchen scenes. It was the exact same kitchen table with the studded leather seats I grew up. It was the same kitchen where I learned to cook. Boy, was there a lot of cooking in ‘The Help” I fell in love with six characters; Aibileen Clark (Viola Davis), Minny Jackson  (Octavia Spencer), Eugenia “Skeeter” Phelan (Emma Stone), Ms. Walters (Sissy Spacek) ,Celia Foote (Jessica Chastain) and Constantine Jefferson (Cicely Tyson -that’s a  given Cicely doesn’t have to speak in a movie for me to love her).

Despite talk and speculation “The Help” (the movie, I have not read the book) in my opinion is a great movie and I’m looking for takers to join me for my third viewing. (inserts smile here). Check out the trailer….

Leave a Reply

